Origin operates two pumped storage hydro power stations, known as the Shoalhaven Scheme, which are located in the Southern Highlands of NSW. The Shoalhaven Scheme consists of the Kangaroo Valley and Bendeela Pumping and Power Stations, and the Fitzroy Falls Reservoir, Bendeela Pondage and Lake Yarrunga.

Kangaroo Valley Power Station in the Kangaroo Valley has two 80 megawatts (110,000 hp) pump turbines, for a total electricity generating capacity of 160 megawatts (210,000 hp). From Bendeela Pondage, Kangaroo Valley Pumping and Power Station lifts water a further 480 metres (1,570 ft) to Fitzroy Falls Reservoir via a tunnel, shaft, pipeline, and canal. Water available for hydro-electric power generation is discharged back down the conduits, driving turbines as it returns to Bendeela Pondage and then Lake Yarrunga.

Open-loop Pumped Hydro Storage